Reflective Writing

Prompt – Reflect and Write

What is reflective writing? I never heard before about this term. What are the differences between reflective writing and writing that I used to do? It becomes a big question in my mind. When I am doing writing, I just write what are in my mind, sometimes based on my own assumption without doing any research, for example, I put a direct opinion about something is right or not.

I am trying to read the module by doing depth understanding of the content in order to find out what exactly the reflective writing is. There is some new information that I get after reading this material.

Firstly, from my understanding, reflective writing is not about delivering information or argument in particular report, it represents how depth our understanding in certain cases and reflect it, involving our knowledge, ideas, feelings and so forth. Furthermore, it does not matter to use first person perspective – “I” in reflective writing. I never use first person perspective when doing some writing. It is because I want to avoid my own assumption which sometimes I do not have sufficient background knowledge in certain cases.

Secondly, reflective writing can be used as a way to evaluate my performance in particular activity like presenting project work. It will be very useful for me because I can discover any weakness and strengths of my ability. Moreover, doing reflective writing also will help me to find a solution to similar problems easier because I already making a breakdown of what I have done before. I believe that the more I am doing reflective writing, the more my ability will increase in academic writing.

Finally, making a reflective writing can be a media to know another point of view in same occasions. Hence, I have some references to improve my performance by analyzing and considering certain aspects from other views.

Leave a comment